Final Fantasy 6

The Super Nintendo gaming console is home to a lot of great RPG games back in the 90s. SquareSoft, a gaming company whose sole mission is to create the best RPG games of all time, has churned out a Role playing Game that captivated the hearts of many during the pre-Playstation Era.

That game is Final Fantasy 6. Final Fantasy 6’s story revolves around a tyrannical empire known as the Gestahlian Empire and the Returners, a Rebel faction that aims to stop the empire’s tyranny.

The main character is Terra Branford, who spent half of her life being a weapon for the empire. She had a change of heart and found the Returners. During the opening sequences, Terra found Locke during a mission. They then instantly became partners to aid the rebel faction.

There is a total of 14 playable characters, which is the largest roster among all of the Final Fantasy games. Each of them have their own stories, which is at the player’s hands to know. The 14 playable characters are:

  • Terra Branford
  • Locke Cole
  • Edgar Roni Figaro
  • Sabin Rene Figaro
  • Cyan Garamonde
  • Gau
  • Celes Chere
  • Setzer Gabbiani
  • Shadow
  • Relm Arrowny
  • Strago Magus
  • Mog
  • Umaro
  • Gogo

The game features an overworld map, which is a main feature in all Final Fantasy games. This allows you to explore a lot of areas either by walking, or by airship.

The combat system uses the “Active Time System”. This battle system is unique because the monsters and the players have their own time bars. When the bar is filled, you can then control your character to do a variety of things such as attacking, casting spells, summoning Espers, or running away from battle. You can bring up to 4 characters in battle at a time.

Another unique feature that is present in all Final Fantasy games are Summons. It wouldn’t be a Final Fantasy game without them. In Final Fantasy 6, summons are called Espers.

There are a lot of Espers in the game. Here is the complete list of Espers you can use:

  • Siren
  • Cait Sith
  • Kirin
  • Ramuh
  • Ifrit
  • Shiva
  • Carbuncle
  • Maduin
  • Bismarck
  • Phantom
  • Unicorn
  • Catoblepas
  • Golem
  • Zona Seeker
  • Seraph
  • Fenrir
  • Lakshmi
  • Quetzalli
  • Phoenix
  • Ragnarok
  • Valigarmanda
  • Midgardsormr
  • Alexander
  • Odin
  • Raiden
  • Bahamut
  • Crusader

Espers are not only summons, but they can also teach the wielder certain magic spells as well. When you defeat an Esper, they will turn into an equippable object known as the magicite. Magicites can teach certain spells to characters who equip them. For example, Ramuh has the power of lightning, and anyone who wields his magicite can learn different lightning spells for the duration.

Of course, any story would not be complete without the main antagonist. The main enemy of the story is Kefka, the emperor’s court mage and right hand man. He had plans to rule the world, even through destructive means. Terra and the resistance must put a stop to Kefka’s nefarious plans and uphold peace to the land once and for all.

Play Final Fantasy 6 because I promise you, you will not be disappointed.

Comments are closed.